Taormina may need surgery

sundstrom

http://www.nj.com/devils/index.ssf/2011/01/devils_defenseman_matt_taormin.html

Defenseman Matt Taormina, who hasn't skated in a month because of a non-displaced fracture of his left ankle, may require surgery.

"We will make a decision very shortly whether he needs to have an operation," general manager Lou Lamoriello said today. "It's a non-displaced situation. We've given it all this time. It's a unique situation."

this is like paul martin again - how do they wait two months before having surgery? i'm not a doctor so perhaps this isn't a second guess thing but the devils doctors really have blown some of these injuries.

I read a few days ago he was going to go see a doctor this week to get the green light to skate again.

"Devils general manager Lou Lamoriello said today that defenseman Matt Taormina will see the doctor later this week in hope of receiving of clearance to resume skating. Taormina has not played since suffering a high sprain of his left ankle in a Nov. 14 practice. He has been off the ice for the last four weeks following two previous attempts to start skating and subsequent setbacks."

-Fire and Ice

I guess he went and the doctor didnt have good news.

Edited by Quinn01

Taormina was playing so well and doing so well for the Devils before this injury happened. Unfortunately it looks like another big loss for the Devils this season. The future looks good for Taormina on this team IMO. He was a rookie but he was doing the same type of plays Martin was doing on this team and the plus was that Taormina was scoring goals. The defense took another hit when he got injured.