A forward pass is complete (by the offense) or intercepted (by the defense) if a player, who is inbounds:
(a) secures control of the ball in his hands or arms prior to the ball touching the ground; and
(b) touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands; and
© maintains control of the ball long enough, after (a) and (b) have been fulfilled, to enable him to perform any act common to the game (i.e., maintaining control long enough to pitch it, pass it, advance with it, or avoid or ward off an opponent, etc.).
It looks to me like Jennings clearly had the ball in his hands when they were in the air, but it's not a catch as defined by the rules until he hits the ground and maintains control. By the time he hits the ground, Tate is also holding the ball. Now the rules also say
Simultaneous Catch. If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control. If the ball is muffed after simultaneous touching by two such players, all the players of the passing team become eligible to catch the loose ball.
Clearly they didn't grab the ball out of the air simultaneously, but Jennings didn't actually make the catch (as defined by the rules) until he hits the ground, at which point both of them appear to have control of the ball. So at what point does a player "gain control" of the ball? Is it when he has the ball in his hands but has not yet hit the ground, or is it when the catch is completed (has the ball in his hands and has touched the ground)? Seems to me like they need to more clearly state what they mean by "gaining control."
If he doesn't "gain control" until he has the ball in his hands AND touches the ground, then I think it counts as a simultaneous catch and they actually got the call right. If "gaining control" doesn't mean he has to actually touch the ground to complete the catch, then Jennings had the ball and it's an interception and they got the call wrong.