To the Drinkers of Cognac

Banzai Riley

Ooh! It's a lady!"

So I'm in need of some help. A friend of mine has always wanted to have some good cognac. Not the VS they sell at most stores, but a more refined bottle. An XO to be sure. So it's finally come time that I have to get him a gift and I figured that a good cognac and some snifters are in order. Now I'm no expert but I've done some research into the different qualities and labels (a week ago I had no idea what the hell VS, VSOP and XO meant), but I still need some advice on what to get, what to avoid... so pretty much personal preference.

Tomorrow I'm heading to a top shelf liquor store to talk to someone about it, but I figured I'd throw it out there and hope that someone drinks the stuff.

Right now I'm considering a Remy Martin XO:

remy_xo.jpg

Beautiful deep amber-copper color. Rich baked pear, orange marmalade, and spice aromas. A supple entry leads to a round, dryish medium body of dried fruits, dusty brown spices, and light toffee flavors. Finishes with pleasant anise and nuts flavors amid the wood spices and minerals. A balanced, elegant style. -http://www.tastings.com/scout_spirits.lasso?id=180604

This is the Ch

Edited by Banzai Riley

"Remember kids, this segment is for platinum members only. If the name of your school doesn't end in prep, academy, or your own last name, run along and dig for spare change in daddy's pockets..."

Classic stuff. Though my former school's name did end in Academy, so I'm in.

And I'm guessing there are no closet cognac drinkers among us? Really? Not one? Well, I'm continuing with this thread anyway. I'll update it with the information I get and add impressions about what I drink even if no one reads the damn thing. It's cathartic.

"Remember kids, this segment is for platinum members only. If the name of your school doesn't end in prep, academy, or your own last name, run along and dig for spare change in daddy's pockets..."