Whether there is a process to correct calls or not, it's still controversial because they weren't correcting a call, they were correcting a non-call. They decided that a whistle should have been blown, and because of that, the goal is disallowed. What stops the play on a delayed penalty call is the ref's whistle, not another player gaining control of the puck. This is not the refs deciding to change a call, it's them deciding to make a call after the fact.
Goals don't happen very often on delayed penalties. Then after that, there is hardly a goal after unclear possession of a puck on a delayed penalty. Thus, this is rarely seen. I don't think the refs handled it well simply because they didn't rule that the player touched the puck, they ruled that "the whistle should have blown." What a weird thing to rule.
I thought it was horrible ! Ughhhhhhhhhhhh