The tripping a player even if the defending player made initial contact with the puck is bs.
So I chase down a breakaway, dive, hit the puck off the attackers stick, but if I follow through, even if I got the puck first, and trip the attacker I'm called on a penalty for tripping. WTF?!!?!
I'm fine with this rule. You wiped out the player, thereby negating any ability for him to regain control of the puck or set up a teammate. There should be some penalty, no? There is compromise between the old and new rule in that you won't be called for a penalty shot. I have seen plenty of defensemen cleanly dive and knock away the puck to be worked up by the rule change.