Jump to content

Anton Volchenkov


justdo3043
 Share

Recommended Posts

i recalled years ago when he was on Ottawa that it was reported he was a goalie when he was younger and that's why he's so inclined to block shots. It's actually not true, but it is always on his mind to block shots by any means necessary. Its part of the reason he's always nicked up. But he is very steady in his own end and makes the right play much more often than not.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Now here's a question:

If a player deliberately covers the puck, with his hand, in the crease, the opposing team is awarded a penalty shot.

What if a player covers the puck in the crease using other parts of his body? ie, laying on it as Volch did here

Edit: Nevermind, I just watched the video the whole way through. Not a PS unless the hand covers the puck

Edited by Devilsfan118
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Now here's a question:

If a player deliberately covers the puck, with his hand, in the crease, the opposing team is awarded a penalty shot.

What if a player covers the puck in the crease using other parts of his body? ie, laying on it as Volch did here

Edit: Nevermind, I just watched the video the whole way through. Not a PS unless the hand covers the puck

yep, legal, even if you squeeze it between your cheeks.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yeah he seems to have his bursts of glory here and there. I wish it was a tad more consistent. Marty definitely owed him a beer or two for that save last night though. I love when he hits too.

i see it like this, Volchenkov provides solid D on a consistent basis and, on top of that, shows bursts of glory.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

yep, legal, even if you squeeze it between your cheeks.

Actually, what Volch did should have been a penalty shot (squeezing the legs to cover the puck), but the ref missed it. Kerry Fraser explained today on TSN:

http://www.tsn.ca/nhl/story/?id=389080

I can only assume, that based on the delay by the referee in getting to the net, he did not see Volchenkov close his legs and cover the puck following the shot that would have appeared to go under the Devils defenceman's body.

Had the play been correctly observed in its entirety the 'something' you are wondering about should have been called a penalty shot.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think the rule can be interpreted differently. 63.2 and 63.5 can be in conflict with each other as written.

"63.2 - Any player who drops to his knees to block a shot should not be penalized if the puck is shot under him or becomes lodged in his clothing or equipment but any use of the hands to make the puck unplayable should be penalized promptly."

Volch drops to block the shot, the puck ends up underneath him, and he does not use his hand to make the puck unplayable. So by 63.2 Volch is ok.

63.2 says only a hand may not be used once the puck is shot underneath the player and 63.5 says the player can never gather the puck under him. 63.2 seems to be the portion of the rules that should be used, since the puck was initially shot under Volch while attempting a shot block, so the key part of the play would be in not using his hand, not whether it was gathered beneath him or not.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.