Olbermann, O'Reilly and the death of real news

DaneykoIsGod

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/11/12/AR2010111202857.html

And so, among the many benefits we have come to believe the founding fathers intended for us, the latest is news we can choose. Beginning, perhaps, from the reasonable perspective that absolute objectivity is unattainable, Fox News and MSNBC no longer even attempt it. They show us the world not as it is, but as partisans (and loyal viewers) at either end of the political spectrum would like it to be. This is to journalism what Bernie Madoff was to investment: He told his customers what they wanted to hear, and by the time they learned the truth, their money was gone.

Maybe this only interests me because I studied journalism and worked in newspapers, but Koppel absolutely crushes the nail right on the head. And it's a fvcking tragedy.

Excellent read.

My link

Here's a good rebuttal.

I don't think much of the O'Reilly's and Olberman's of the world, but what we have now is much better than a three network oligopoly that dictated what was news and what wasn't.

Case in point is Walter Kronkite calling Vietnam unwinnable after Tet. Maybe he was right, maybe he was wrong (for reasons not worth getting into, he was wrong). It's much better, however, to be able to change the channel and find someone who could tell you why he was wrong, even if that person happens to be a loud mouth jerk.

And in any event, any journalist who claims to be non-partisan or objective is either incredibly dense or a liar (and probably both).

People wanting to hear what they want to hear? While not ideal, it's better than being told what to think by some aging fossil.

Edited by Daniel