The worst 'best' goaltenders in the league.

Neb00rs

I've been itching to start a topic on this for awhile. This league is suffering from a whole lot of goalie overrating due to the teams in front of them being super. I am no expert but it seems to me that some goalies, like Quick, are held up as iron walls of goaltending, when their true level of skill is questionable.The 1-1 battle between Crawford and Fleury today was laughable. Both goalies sucked but both finished the game with .969+ sv pcts. Shooters scored 5 out of 6 times in the shootout. Now, given with guys like Kane and Crosby shooting it's difficult but what I witnessed was just pathetic. MA Fleury didn't come close to even stopping 1 of the 3 shooters he faced in the shootout. After letting in the third straight shot and losing the game, he slammed his stick on the goalpost. I don't blame him; it's difficult when you are exposed and realize that you are not as good as your team is making you seem. I can only imagine how good Cory would be on some of these teams.

Here's what comes to mind in this conversation in general:

MA Fleury - 8 shutouts on the year, 26 wins, .922 sv pct. on a good team (Somehow he has managed good numbers across the board). Though, with a career .911/2.59 though, on the juggernaut he has played for, that's just sad.

Jonathan Quick - Often included in discussions about the league's best netminder; 21 wins but a .909 sv pct. and a 2.50 GAA on a good team.

Ben Bishop - TB's widely heralded goalie; 27 wins on the year but a .910 sv pct and a 2.47 GAA on a good team. He has been outplayed by his backup Vasilevskiy by a wide margin (.932 and 2.00).

Ryan Miller - 26 wins, 6 shutouts but a .913 sv pct. and a 2.46 GAA on a good team. Does anyone really think he's that good?

Antii Niemi - 23 wins, 4 shutouts, .912 and a 2.60 GAA on a good team.